Turkey Bans Flights to and from Nine European Countries

Photo: Turkish Airlines

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Turkey is one of the latest major countries which announced about the outbreak of the coronavirus. In order to prevent the virus from spreading, Turkey has announced that it suspends flights to and from nine European countries.

The list of affected countries includes Germany, France, Spain, Norway, Denmark, Austria, Sweden, Belgium and the Netherlands.

This tough precautionary measure aimed at halting the coronavirus is effective from 8 am local time on Saturday, 14 March, until 17 April.

Turkish Airlines said on their website that it is ready to “offer cancellation and route/date change options free of charge to its passengers with tickets for international flights”.

Taking steps to contain the spread, Turkey has already suspended flights to and from Italy, China, South Korea, Iran and Iraq.