The UK Removes All Countries from Red List Due to Omicron Spread

Photo: British Airways

Reading Time: < 1 minute

In response to Omicron cases rising across the country, the UK government has decided to scrap its red list since it is no longer effective.

As of December 14th, the red list contained 11 countries – Angola, Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe. However, the country has removed all 11 countries from the red list because restrictions are considered almost obsolete due to the spread of Omicron.

Health Secretary Sajid Javid told Parliament, “Now that there is community transmission of Omicron in the UK and Omicron has spread so widely across the world, the travel red list is now less effective in slowing the incursion of Omicron from abroad.”